The Transition

ashmeditation

Today is the day.  I’m finally letting go of my old paradigm.  Seaside Yoga.  Since 2001, I have identified myself through my relationship to my business.  It was my first baby.  It was my first marriage.  It was my Master’s in Business, my Doctorate in Philosophy.  It was everything.  Until today.  Today is the day that we complete the last module of Yoga Teacher Training.

In my 20s, I identified with my accomplishments.  In my naïve state, I thought that I would own 1/2 million dollars in real estate by the time I was 30.  Little did I realize that the banks would actually own the real estate, and I would be paying a hefty price tag of interest each month.

I identified with my business and the successes.  I identified deeply with my failures, which took me into a debilitating depression when my first business partner left the scene.  Both sides of the identification created suffering.  I can now see the strong hold that the mind has on the psyche.

And now, as I approach my 40s, with no house, no car, no real estate to manage, I feel more freedom and happiness than I ever have.  Today symbolizes so much as I close the Seaside Yoga chapter of my life and prepare to step more fully into a new paradigm.

I realize now that I am just beginning.  It is an exciting juncture to begin again with no expectations.  At 28, opening my business, I was full of expectations.  I expected the people I worked with to have the same work ethic as me.  I expected my business to be my retirement plan.  I expected to stay in Wilmington, NC for the rest of my life and live happily ever after.

No expectations, no plan…only trust in following my heart towards then next best step.  I finally know what that feels like.

Join me on the next steps of my adventure…who knows where that will lead any of us!

http://www.theyogaparadigm.com

#theashleyludadventure on www.instagram.com

Leave a comment